Applauded by The Strad for his “brilliant and compelling programming,” Sam Suggs is the first solo bassist in 36 years to join the Concert Artists Guild roster, and was recently recognized with an award for Extraordinary Creativity at the 2017 Bradetich Foundation International Double Bass Competition.

A paradigm-shifting performer-composer, Sam was named ‘New Artist of the Month’ (October 2015) by Musical America after winning 1st place at the 2015 International Society of Bassists Solo Competition while performing many original works.

As a collaborative bassist, he has performed at the Mostly Mozart Festival, Yellow Barn, Chamber Music Northwest, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center, and with the Argus Quartet, PUBLIQuartet, Founders, Frisson Ensemble, and his contemporary/jazz trio Triplepoint.

A native of Buffalo, NY, Sam spends his time between the Northeast and the Shenandoah Valley performing with various chamber, crossover, and contemporary groups, giving recitals and masterclasses, and teaching full-time as Assistant Professor of Bass at James Madison University.


Sam Suggs: Bluebirds On Titan

Penderecki: Duo Concertante (excerpt)

Michael Laurello: Plead, for solo double bass (excerpt)


  • See video Daft Punk Bass Solo

    Daft Punk Bass Solo

  • See video  Bach: Fugue (BWV 995)

    Bach: Fugue (BWV 995)

  • See video  Postlude



  • Orchestral Repertoire

    Bottesini Concerto no. 2 in B minor

    Bottesini Gran Duo Concertante for Violin, Bass and Orchestra

    Bottesini  Allegro di Concerto di Mendelssohn (orch. Suggs)

    Bottesini  Passione Amorosa – for two double basses and orchestra

    Dittersdorf  Sinfonia Concertante for Viola and Double Bass

    Koussevitzky  Concerto (1905) in F-sharp minor

    Proto/Bizet Carmen Fantasy (1991)  (Jazz Inspired, with full orchestra)

    Edouard Nanny Concerto for Double Bass and Orchesrtra (until recently attributed to Beethoven’s bassist Dragonetti)

    Bernard Salles Sinfonia Concertante (2014)

    Suggs/Haydn Concerto after Haydn (2014)

    Suggs/Verdi Otello Fantasy: an opera fantasy based on the final scene of Act 4 from Verdi’s Otello 

    Suggs  Concerto for Double Bass “Ursa” (2017) (strings and percussion, 12 minutes) – new work/BMI Commission