CAG Artist Daniel Hsu Awarded Bronze Medal at The Cliburn

Photo: Carolyn Cruz

We are thrilled to announce that CAG’s 2015 First Prize Winner, pianist Daniel Hsu, was awarded the Bronze Medal at this year’s Cliburn Competition, plus awards for his rendition of the Franck Piano Quintet with the Brentano String Quartet, and for his performance of a new work by juror and 2015 CAG gala honoree Marc-André Hamelin.

At age 19, Daniel was the youngest finalist and his performance of Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1—led by Jury Chairman Leonard Slatkin conducting the Fort Worth Symphony—was the finale of the entire 16-day event, which was seen and heard by millions of people watching in movie theaters across America and online throughout the world.

This is just the latest success for Daniel, who was also a Bronze Medal winner at the 2016 Hamamatsu Piano Competition in Japan and a 2016 Gilmore Young Artist.

Click here to watch Daniel’s Mozart Concerto from the semifinals
(including cadenzas written by his brother, Andrew Hsu!)

CAG offers unparalleled exposure to new talent and adventurous programming.
We are making music happen…join us!

Support CAG