CAG Congratulates 2008 Winner Claire Chase on Avery Fisher Prize!

Given in recognition of musicians who represent the highest level of musical excellence and whose vision and leadership have taken classical music to an expanded level, Claire Chase becomes the first flutist to receive this prestigious award, which also includes $100,000.

Described as “a rare combination of grace and guts” by The Wall Street Journal, Claire is a soloist, collaborative artist and activist for new music. She follows in the footsteps of fellow CAG Alum David Shifrin and CAG Artistic Advisory Committee members André Watts and Richard Goode. Also among the 22 previous recipients of the Avery Fisher Prize are Emanuel Ax, Yo-Yo Ma, Joshua Bell, Edgar Meyer and the Emerson and Kronos String Quartets.

Read more in The New York Times.

Congratulations, Claire!

CAG offers unparalleled exposure to new talent and adventurous programming.
We are making music happen…join us!

Support CAG