Project Description

Hailed as “a pair of adventurous young talents” (Time Out New York), the dynamic Canellakis-Brown Duo presents innovative programs that combine original compositions and arrangements with modern masterpieces and classics from the standard repertory. Comprised of cellist Nicholas Canellakis and pianist/composer Michael Brown, the duo captivates audiences and presenters alike through its superb musicianship and engaging presentations. 

In 2012-13 the Duo appears at Bargemusic and has a three-concert residency at Barbès in Brooklyn, where it has performed regularly over the past two seasons. In addition to performing as a recital duo, they produce and star in a Youtube comedy series called “Conversations with Nick Canellakis” in which they conduct satirical interviews with stars of the classical music world.

Nicholas Canellakis and Michael Brown are affiliated with some of the most prestigious arts organizations in New York City. Mr. Canellakis, known for his “rich, alluring tone” (The New York Times), is an artist of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center and a regular performer at Bargemusic. Mr. Brown, hailed as a “young piano visionary” (The New York Times), is the First Prize Winner of the 2010 Concert Artists Guild Victor Elmaleh Competition and performed at Alice Tully Hall as a soloist with the Juilliard Orchestra under New York Philharmonic Music Director Alan Gilbert. Between the two of them, they have performed at some of the most prominent music festivals in the world, including Music@Menlo, Ravinia, Marlboro, Tanglewood, Santa Fe, Caramoor, Bridgehampton, Aspen, and Mostly Mozart.

Mr. Brown is a critically acclaimed composer whose works have been performed around the US at venues including Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center, and Ravinia. He has written three works for Mr. Canellakis, and the two are collaborating on a fourth composition that combines a large-scale cello/piano work with an original film.

Filmmaking is a special interest of Mr. Canellakis. In addition to “Conversations with Nick Canellakis,” he has produced and directed music videos and fictional shorts which can be found on YouTube.


From Dark to Light

Beethoven: Sonata for Piano and Cello in G minor, Opus 5, No. 2
Schnittke: Sonata for Cello and Piano No. 1
Debussy: Beau Soir
Michael Brown: Five AM (after Allen Ginsberg)
Chopin: Sonata for Cello and Piano in G Minor, Opus 65
Bulgarian traditional/Canellakis: Gankino Horo

The Folk Tradition

Schumann: Five Pieces in Folk Style, Opus 102
Bartok:  Romanian Folk Dances, Sz. 56
Lukas Foss: Capriccio


Brahms: Sonata in F major, Opus 99
Bulgarian folk traditionals/arranged by Canellakis


Barber: Cello Sonata, Opus 6
Shostakovich: Sonata for Cello and Piano in D Minor, Opus 40


Michael Brown: Five AM (after Allen Ginsberg)
Beethoven: Sonata for Piano and Cello in D, Opus 102, No. 2


Lukas Foss: Capriccio

Sergei Prokofiev: Sonata for Cello & Piano, Op. 119, II. Moderato

Michael Brown: Five A.M. (after Allen Ginsburg)


  • See video Claude Debussy: Beau Soir

    Claude Debussy: Beau Soir

  • See video  Bulgarian Folk Tune, arr. Canellakis:

    Bulgarian Folk Tune, arr. Canellakis: "Gankino Horo"

  • See video  Michael Brown: Five A.M.  (after Allan Ginsburg) (2009)

    Michael Brown: Five A.M. (after Allan Ginsburg) (2009)